1888-01-25 McHenry Johnson w disq 4 (finish) George Godfrey, Boulder County, Colorado, USA

From Barry Hugman's History of World Championship Boxing
Revision as of 22:59, 31 March 2012 by Hugman (Talk | contribs)
Jump to: navigation, search

1888-01-25 McHenry Johnson w disq 4 (finish) George Godfrey, Colorado, USA. Referee: Dick Williams. Contested in four-ounce gloves about 15 miles from Denver, after two tame rounds Godfrey almost knocked Johnson senseless in the third and then continued to pound the latter around the ring at will. In the fourth Godfrey was again completely on top with Johnson unable to do much about it other than hold on for dear life. Told to break by the referee Godfrey continued to pound away, eventually knocking Johnson to the floor with a right to the jaw. Although Johnson, who had been down three times, was comprehensively beaten his seconds claimed a foul and too much surprise the referee went along with it.

Following the event, the Cribb Club Committee, who organised the fight, reversed the decision as far as the stake money was concerned, with Godfrey receiving the lion’s share, while agreeing that the result should stand. While Johnson retires, Godfrey continued to claim the ‘black’ title.

On 14 May 1888, Godfrey challenged John L. Sullivan, who refused point blank. Following that, the Boston Police News stated that Godfrey had every right to the ‘black’ title.

Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
Toolbox
Google AdSense