Difference between revisions of "1892-05-31 (115lbs) Johnny Murphy drew 40 (finish) Torpedo Billy Murphy, Pacific AC, San Francisco, California, USA"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
(Add Bantam Page)
 
Line 1: Line 1:
31 May (115lbs) [[Johnny Murphy]] drew 40 (finish) [[Torpedo Billy Murphy]], [[Pacific AC, San Francisco, California]], USA. Referee: [[Mike Sullivan]]. Although billed for the 122lbs championship, the American, who was inside 115lbs, claimed the title at that weight when the Torpedo, inside 118lbs, failed to continue the contest a few days later. This situation came about after the referee had called a halt to the proceedings as neither man was doing too much. Prior to that moment, the American had been twice staggered in the opening session and knocked down in the 29th but had been able to continue when his opponent, who was much bigger, eased off.
+
1892-05-31 (115lbs) [[Johnny Murphy]] drew 40 (finish) [[Torpedo Billy Murphy]], Pacific AC, San Francisco, California, USA. Referee: Mike Sullivan. Although billed for the 122lbs championship, the American, who was inside 115lbs, claimed the title at that weight when the Torpedo, inside 118lbs, failed to continue the contest a few days later. This situation came about after the referee had called a halt to the proceedings as neither man was doing too much. Prior to that moment, the American had been twice staggered in the opening session and knocked down in the 29th but had been able to continue when his opponent, who was much bigger, eased off.
 +
 
 +
[[Category: 1892 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Bantamweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Bantamweight Division]]

Revision as of 11:48, 17 February 2012

1892-05-31 (115lbs) Johnny Murphy drew 40 (finish) Torpedo Billy Murphy, Pacific AC, San Francisco, California, USA. Referee: Mike Sullivan. Although billed for the 122lbs championship, the American, who was inside 115lbs, claimed the title at that weight when the Torpedo, inside 118lbs, failed to continue the contest a few days later. This situation came about after the referee had called a halt to the proceedings as neither man was doing too much. Prior to that moment, the American had been twice staggered in the opening session and knocked down in the 29th but had been able to continue when his opponent, who was much bigger, eased off.