Difference between revisions of "1916-05-13 (160lbs) Les Darcy w rsc 5 (20) Alex Costica, Baker’s Stadium, Sydney, Australia"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 1: Line 1:
1916-05-13 (160lbs) [[Les Darcy]] w rtd 5 (20) [[Alex Costica]], Baker’s Stadium, Sydney, Australia. Referee: Arthur Scott. Making his seventh successful defence of the Australian version of the 160lbs title, Darcy (158) was far too good for Costica (154¼), who really should not have been allowed to share the same ring with him. Hanging on like a limpet allowed Costica to get through the first round, but after being dropped in the second and again in the third, when he was saved by the bell, he came out for the fourth staring defeat in the face. It was not long in coming and after two more visits to the floor Costica was pulled out by the referee on the instructions of the police.  
+
1916-05-13 (160lbs) [[Les Darcy]] w rtd 5 (20) [[Alex Costica]], Baker’s Stadium, Sydney, Australia. Referee: Arthur Scott. Making his seventh successful defence of the Australian version of the 160lbs title, Darcy (158) was far too good for Costica (154¼), who really should not have been allowed to share the same ring with him. Hanging on like a limpet allowed Costica to get through the first round, but after being dropped in the second and again in the third, when saved by the bell, he came out for the fourth staring defeat in the face. It was not long in coming, and having been floored twice more Costica was pulled out by the referee on the instructions of the police.  
  
 
[[Category: 1916 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1916 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Middleweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Middleweight Division]]

Revision as of 12:06, 18 June 2013

1916-05-13 (160lbs) Les Darcy w rtd 5 (20) Alex Costica, Baker’s Stadium, Sydney, Australia. Referee: Arthur Scott. Making his seventh successful defence of the Australian version of the 160lbs title, Darcy (158) was far too good for Costica (154¼), who really should not have been allowed to share the same ring with him. Hanging on like a limpet allowed Costica to get through the first round, but after being dropped in the second and again in the third, when saved by the bell, he came out for the fourth staring defeat in the face. It was not long in coming, and having been floored twice more Costica was pulled out by the referee on the instructions of the police.