Difference between revisions of "1943-12-27 Phil Terranova rsc 6 (15) Jackie Callura, Coliseum Arena, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA - NBA"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
(Created page with "1943-12-27 Phil Terranova rsc 6 (15) Jackie Callura, Coliseum Arena, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA - NBA. Referee: Eddie Coulon. Repeating his win over Callura (126), only in quick...")
 
 
Line 1: Line 1:
1943-12-27 Phil Terranova rsc 6 (15) Jackie Callura, Coliseum Arena, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA - NBA. Referee: Eddie Coulon. Repeating his win over Callura (126), only in quicker time, Terranova (123½) proved that he had the ‘Indian Sign’ over his challenger as he blasted his way to another inside-the-distance victory, his third in as many fights. Smashed to the floor four times in all in a real slugfest, the referee used perfect judgement when he called a halt to proceedings in the sixth round after Callura had been floored and was looking to get up. Having earlier objected to the third man through his manager, Callura, who only won one of his next 13 contests prior to retiring, later explained that the referee did him a favour as he could not remember anything following the second knockdown. 
+
1943-12-27 [[Phil Terranova]] rsc 6 (15) [[Jackie Callura]], Coliseum Arena, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA - NBA. Referee: Eddie Coulon. Repeating his win over Callura (126), only in quicker time, Terranova (123½) proved that he had the ‘Indian Sign’ over his challenger as he blasted his way to another inside-the-distance victory, his third in as many fights. Smashed to the floor four times in all in a real slugfest, the referee used perfect judgement when he called a halt to proceedings in the sixth round after Callura had been floored and was looking to get up.  
  
[[Category: 1943 Featherweight Title Contests]]
+
Having earlier objected to the third man through his manager, Callura, who only won one of his next 13 contests prior to retiring, later explained that the referee did him a favour as he could not remember anything following the second knockdown. 
 +
 
 +
[[Category: 1943 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Featherweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Featherweight Division]]

Latest revision as of 14:52, 12 January 2012

1943-12-27 Phil Terranova rsc 6 (15) Jackie Callura, Coliseum Arena, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA - NBA. Referee: Eddie Coulon. Repeating his win over Callura (126), only in quicker time, Terranova (123½) proved that he had the ‘Indian Sign’ over his challenger as he blasted his way to another inside-the-distance victory, his third in as many fights. Smashed to the floor four times in all in a real slugfest, the referee used perfect judgement when he called a halt to proceedings in the sixth round after Callura had been floored and was looking to get up.

Having earlier objected to the third man through his manager, Callura, who only won one of his next 13 contests prior to retiring, later explained that the referee did him a favour as he could not remember anything following the second knockdown.