1951-02-14 Sugar Ray Robinson w rsc 13 (15) Jake LaMotta, The Stadium, Chicago, Illinois, USA - WORLD

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search

1951-02-14 Sugar Ray Robinson w rsc 13 (15) Jake LaMotta, The Stadium, Chicago, Illinois, USA - WORLD. Referee: Frank Sikora. In what was their sixth meeting, Robinson (155½) scored a decisive win over LaMotta (160) to unify the title after the latter, displaying all of his bulldog spirit, had gone well during the opening ten rounds. All of that time Robinson had been in control without being able to take risks, but when LaMotta suddenly weakened in the 12th the 'Sugarman' seized his opportunity. Lashing in punches to both head and body, Robinson landed 56 heavy blows to nine in return, none of which were of any consequence according to The Ring magazine, and in the 13th it was more of the same. With LaMotta spreadeagled against the ropes and helpless, his face a terrible mess, he was finally taken out of his misery on the 2.04 mark.

With Robinson on a second tour of Europe, it was announced by the British promoter, Jack Solomons, in early June that the American would be defending his title against Randy Turpin before making for home. Although he beat Kid Marcel, Jean Wanes, Jan De Bruin, Jean Walzack, Gerhard Hecht and Cyrille Delannoit, the tour was not without hitch, as he was initially disqualified for decking Hecht with kidney punches before the decision was reversed to that of no-contest.

Not given much chance of beating Robinson by the British press, Turpin was considered to be too raw and untested at that level. That aside, the brother of Dick Turpin, the former British and British Empire middleweight champion, had run up 40 wins in 43 fights, reversed the two defeats at the hands of Albert Finch and Jean Stock, and had become the British and European champion. Extremely heavy-handed and strong, only nine of his victims had managed to stay the course. Along the way he had defeated Vince Hawkins, Doug Miller, Delannoit, Pete Mead, Tommy Yarosz, Billy Brown, Jackie Keough, Luc Van Dam and De Bruin, the last two in European title fights.