Difference between revisions of "1961-06-03 Emile Griffith w rsc 12 (15) Gaspar Ortega, Olympic Auditorium, Los Angeles, California, USA - WORLD"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
 
Line 1: Line 1:
1961-06-03 [[Emile Griffith]] w rsc 12 (15) [[Gaspar Ortega]], Olympic Auditorium, Los Angeles, California, USA - WORLD. Referee: Tommy Hart. In what turned out to be a one-sided contest, Ortega (146) was stopped for the first time in an 83-bout career when the referee stepped in to save him from further punishment at the hands of the champion after 48 seconds of the 12th had elapsed. Ortega never really got into the fight following an excellent start by Griffith (145½), who used the left hook to wear him down before twice smashing him to the canvas in round seven for counts of ‘eight’. Subsequently it was just a matter of time as Ortega tried to regroup, but he was beginning to take a lot of punishment and in the 11th he was sent staggering into his own corner, only being saved by the bell. Although Ortega came out for the 12th it was almost pointless as Griffith was soon pouring in punches from both hands, almost as if he was working on a punch bag, and it was a welcome relief for just about everyone when the fight was called off.         
+
1961-06-03 [[Emile Griffith]] w rsc 12 (15) [[Gaspar Ortega]], Olympic Auditorium, Los Angeles, California, USA - WORLD. Referee: Tommy Hart. In what turned out to be a one-sided contest, Ortega (146) was stopped for the first time in an 83-bout career when the referee stepped in to save him from taking further punishment at the hands of the champion after 48 seconds of the 12th had elapsed. Ortega never really got into the fight following an excellent start by Griffith (145½), who used the left hook to wear him down before twice smashing him to the canvas in round seven for counts of ‘eight’. Ortega tried to regroup, but having again been put under the cosh he was saved by the bell after being sent staggering into his own corner at the end of the 11th. Although Ortega came out for the 12th it was pointless as Griffith was soon pouring in punches from both hands, almost as if he was working on a punch bag, and it was a welcome relief for just about everyone when the fight was called off.         
  
 
[[Category: 1961 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1961 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Welterweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Welterweight Division]]

Latest revision as of 09:58, 31 May 2013

1961-06-03 Emile Griffith w rsc 12 (15) Gaspar Ortega, Olympic Auditorium, Los Angeles, California, USA - WORLD. Referee: Tommy Hart. In what turned out to be a one-sided contest, Ortega (146) was stopped for the first time in an 83-bout career when the referee stepped in to save him from taking further punishment at the hands of the champion after 48 seconds of the 12th had elapsed. Ortega never really got into the fight following an excellent start by Griffith (145½), who used the left hook to wear him down before twice smashing him to the canvas in round seven for counts of ‘eight’. Ortega tried to regroup, but having again been put under the cosh he was saved by the bell after being sent staggering into his own corner at the end of the 11th. Although Ortega came out for the 12th it was pointless as Griffith was soon pouring in punches from both hands, almost as if he was working on a punch bag, and it was a welcome relief for just about everyone when the fight was called off.