1961-06-03 Emile Griffith w rsc 12 (15) Gaspar Ortega, Olympic Auditorium, Los Angeles, California, USA - WORLD

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Revision as of 09:58, 31 May 2013 by Hugman (Talk | contribs)

(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

1961-06-03 Emile Griffith w rsc 12 (15) Gaspar Ortega, Olympic Auditorium, Los Angeles, California, USA - WORLD. Referee: Tommy Hart. In what turned out to be a one-sided contest, Ortega (146) was stopped for the first time in an 83-bout career when the referee stepped in to save him from taking further punishment at the hands of the champion after 48 seconds of the 12th had elapsed. Ortega never really got into the fight following an excellent start by Griffith (145½), who used the left hook to wear him down before twice smashing him to the canvas in round seven for counts of ‘eight’. Ortega tried to regroup, but having again been put under the cosh he was saved by the bell after being sent staggering into his own corner at the end of the 11th. Although Ortega came out for the 12th it was pointless as Griffith was soon pouring in punches from both hands, almost as if he was working on a punch bag, and it was a welcome relief for just about everyone when the fight was called off.