1967-07-01 Carlos Ortiz w rsc 4 (15) Sugar Ramos, Hiram Bithorn Stadium, San Juan, Puerto Rico - WORLD

From Barry Hugman's History of World Championship Boxing
(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
 
Line 1: Line 1:
1967-07-01 [[Carlos Ortiz]] w rsc 4 (15) [[Sugar Ramos]], Hiram Bithorn Stadium, San Juan, Puerto Rico - WORLD. Referee: Zack Clayton. This was the long-awaited rematch and Ortiz (135) did not hang around as he took the initiative from the start, knocking the challenger down in the second and scoring almost at will in the third round. In the fourth, having forced Ramos (132¾) to take mandatory ‘eight’ count following a right to the head, Ortiz set about his rival to batter him without reply before the referee finally called the fight off after 1.18 of the session had elapsed.  
+
1967-07-01 [[Carlos Ortiz]] w rsc 4 (15) [[Sugar Ramos]], Hiram Bithorn Stadium, San Juan, Puerto Rico - WORLD. Referee: Zack Clayton. With this being the long-awaited rematch, Ortiz (135) did not hang around as he took the initiative from the start, knocking the challenger down in the second and scoring almost at will in the third round. In the fourth, having forced Ramos (132¾) to take a mandatory ‘eight’ count following a right to the head, Ortiz set about his rival to batter him without reply before the referee finally called the fight off after 1.18 of the session had elapsed.  
  
 
Prior to signing for the Ramos defence, the WBA had supported Ortiz on the grounds that he defended against [[Ismael Laguna]] within 60 days or risk being stripped.
 
Prior to signing for the Ramos defence, the WBA had supported Ortiz on the grounds that he defended against [[Ismael Laguna]] within 60 days or risk being stripped.

Latest revision as of 13:58, 19 April 2013

1967-07-01 Carlos Ortiz w rsc 4 (15) Sugar Ramos, Hiram Bithorn Stadium, San Juan, Puerto Rico - WORLD. Referee: Zack Clayton. With this being the long-awaited rematch, Ortiz (135) did not hang around as he took the initiative from the start, knocking the challenger down in the second and scoring almost at will in the third round. In the fourth, having forced Ramos (132¾) to take a mandatory ‘eight’ count following a right to the head, Ortiz set about his rival to batter him without reply before the referee finally called the fight off after 1.18 of the session had elapsed.

Prior to signing for the Ramos defence, the WBA had supported Ortiz on the grounds that he defended against Ismael Laguna within 60 days or risk being stripped.

Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
Toolbox
Google AdSense