Difference between revisions of "1973-08-18 Romeo Anaya w co 3 (15) Enrique Pinder, Inglewood Forum, Los Angeles, California, USA - WBA"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
(Add Bantam Page)
 
Line 1: Line 1:
18 August Romeo Anaya w co 3 (15) Enrique Pinder, Inglewood Forum, Los Angeles, California, USA - WBA. Referee: George Latka. Despite being told to stay out of range in the early stages, Pinder (117½) elected to trade with Anaya (118) and paid a big price. Flattened by a solid left hook to the jaw, having been set up with heavy blows to the head with just two seconds of the third remaining, the challenger crashed to the floor. Under different circumstances Pinder might have been given time to recover, but due to Californian rules allowing for the count to continue even if the round had ended, he was counted out eight seconds after the bell.
+
1973-08-18 [[Romeo Anaya]] w co 3 (15) [[Enrique Pinder]], Inglewood Forum, Los Angeles, California, USA - WBA. Referee: George Latka. Despite being told to stay out of range in the early stages, Pinder (117½) elected to trade with Anaya (118) and paid a big price. Flattened by a solid left hook to the jaw, having been set up with heavy blows to the head with just two seconds of the third remaining, the challenger crashed to the floor. Under different circumstances Pinder might have been given time to recover, but due to Californian rules allowing for the count to continue even if the round had ended, he was counted out eight seconds after the bell.
 +
 
 +
[[Category: 1973 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Bantamweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Bantamweight Division]]

Revision as of 04:32, 20 February 2012

1973-08-18 Romeo Anaya w co 3 (15) Enrique Pinder, Inglewood Forum, Los Angeles, California, USA - WBA. Referee: George Latka. Despite being told to stay out of range in the early stages, Pinder (117½) elected to trade with Anaya (118) and paid a big price. Flattened by a solid left hook to the jaw, having been set up with heavy blows to the head with just two seconds of the third remaining, the challenger crashed to the floor. Under different circumstances Pinder might have been given time to recover, but due to Californian rules allowing for the count to continue even if the round had ended, he was counted out eight seconds after the bell.