1974-11-30 Rodrigo Valdez w co 11 (15) Gratien Tonna, Exhibition Centre, Paris, France - WBC

From Barry Hugman's History of World Championship Boxing
(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 1: Line 1:
1974-11-30 [[Rodrigo Valdez]] w co 11 (15) [[Gratien Tonna]], Exhibition Centre, Paris, France - WBC. Referee: Jean Deswert. Making his first defence, Valdez (160) came up against a tough customer in Tonna (159), who contested the fight all the way and made life very difficult for the champion. Having taken a beating for the opening three rounds, Tonna really went to work and consistently hurt Valdez from thereon, especially with big right hands. By the ninth it appeared that Tonna was ahead, but Valdez came roaring back with big punches of his own to take the initiative again and by the end of the session was punching the Frenchman around the ring. It was more of the same in the tenth and in the 11th Valdez again laid into Tonna, whose cut left eye had worsened. The contest came to an end when the referee called for the men to break and Valdez, obviously not hearing the command in the din, jumped in with a left-right to put Tonna down on one knee for the full count, which was followed by uproar. The referee stated afterwards: “There was no doubt that Valdez hit Tonna after the order to break, but I am certain he did not hear the command”. He went on to say: “Tonna did not want to get up after taking his corner’s advice. It was a bad mistake as there was no question of my disqualifying Valdez”.   
+
1974-11-30 [[Rodrigo Valdez]] w co 11 (15) [[Gratien Tonna]], Exhibition Centre, Paris, France - WBC. Referee: Jean Deswert. Making his first defence, Valdez (160) came up against a tough customer in Tonna (159), who contested the fight all the way and made life very difficult for the champion. Having taken a beating for the opening three rounds, Tonna really went to work and consistently hurt Valdez from thereafter, especially with big right hands. By the ninth it appeared that Tonna was ahead, but Valdez came roaring back with big punches of his own to take the initiative again and by the end of the session was punching the Frenchman around the ring. It was more of the same in the tenth and in the 11th Valdez again laid into Tonna, whose cut left eye had worsened. The contest came to an end when the referee called for the men to break and Valdez, obviously not hearing the command in the din, jumped in with a left-right to put Tonna down on one knee for the full count, which was followed by uproar. The referee stated afterwards: “There was no doubt that Valdez hit Tonna after the order to break, but I am certain he did not hear the command”. He went on to say: “Tonna did not want to get up after taking his corner’s advice. It was a bad mistake as there was no question of my disqualifying Valdez”.   
  
 
[[Category: 1974 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1974 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Middleweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Middleweight Division]]

Revision as of 12:18, 23 March 2012

1974-11-30 Rodrigo Valdez w co 11 (15) Gratien Tonna, Exhibition Centre, Paris, France - WBC. Referee: Jean Deswert. Making his first defence, Valdez (160) came up against a tough customer in Tonna (159), who contested the fight all the way and made life very difficult for the champion. Having taken a beating for the opening three rounds, Tonna really went to work and consistently hurt Valdez from thereafter, especially with big right hands. By the ninth it appeared that Tonna was ahead, but Valdez came roaring back with big punches of his own to take the initiative again and by the end of the session was punching the Frenchman around the ring. It was more of the same in the tenth and in the 11th Valdez again laid into Tonna, whose cut left eye had worsened. The contest came to an end when the referee called for the men to break and Valdez, obviously not hearing the command in the din, jumped in with a left-right to put Tonna down on one knee for the full count, which was followed by uproar. The referee stated afterwards: “There was no doubt that Valdez hit Tonna after the order to break, but I am certain he did not hear the command”. He went on to say: “Tonna did not want to get up after taking his corner’s advice. It was a bad mistake as there was no question of my disqualifying Valdez”.

Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
Toolbox
Google AdSense