Difference between revisions of "1975-03-27 Kuniaki Shibata w pts 15 Ould Makloufi, Kyuden Gym, Fukuoka City, Japan - WBC"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
 
Line 1: Line 1:
1975-03-27 [[Kuniaki Shibata]] w pts 15 [[Ould Makloufi]], Kyuden Gym, Fukuoka City, Japan - WBC. Referee: Yusaku Yoshida. Scorecards: 75-69, 75-65, 75-65. Although Shibata (129½), attacking from the off, floored Makloufi (129) with a cracking left hook in the second round he was unable to catch up with the fleet-footed challenger again before having to settle for the points decision. Five times both men were told to produce more action as Makloufi, who had a noticeable height and reach advantage, continually backed off flicking out left jabs as Shibata tried to work the body. In the 14th, Makloufi appeared to have been dropped again, but the referee counted it as a slip.  
+
1975-03-27 [[Kuniaki Shibata]] w pts 15 [[Ould Makloufi]], Kyuden Gym, Fukuoka City, Japan - WBC. Referee: Yusaku Yoshida. Scorecards: 75-69, 75-65, 75-65. Although Shibata (129½), attacking from the off, floored Makloufi (129) with a cracking left hook in the second round he was unable to catch up with the fleet-footed challenger again before having to settle for the points decision. Five times both men were told to produce more action as Makloufi, who had a noticeable height-and-reach advantage, continually backed off flicking out left jabs as Shibata tried to work the body. In the 14th Makloufi appeared to have been dropped again, but the referee counted it as a slip.  
  
 
[[Category: 1975 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1975 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Junior Lightweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Junior Lightweight Division]]

Latest revision as of 11:08, 8 April 2013

1975-03-27 Kuniaki Shibata w pts 15 Ould Makloufi, Kyuden Gym, Fukuoka City, Japan - WBC. Referee: Yusaku Yoshida. Scorecards: 75-69, 75-65, 75-65. Although Shibata (129½), attacking from the off, floored Makloufi (129) with a cracking left hook in the second round he was unable to catch up with the fleet-footed challenger again before having to settle for the points decision. Five times both men were told to produce more action as Makloufi, who had a noticeable height-and-reach advantage, continually backed off flicking out left jabs as Shibata tried to work the body. In the 14th Makloufi appeared to have been dropped again, but the referee counted it as a slip.