Difference between revisions of "1975-05-31 Rodrigo Valdez w rsc 8 (15) Ramon Mendez, The Coliseum, Cali, Colombia - WBC"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
(Created page with "1975-05-31 Rodrigo Valdez w rsc 8 (15) Ramon Mendez, The Coliseum, Cali, Colombia - WBC. Referee: Humberto Caceres. After sizing Mendez (159) up in the first round, the champion ...")
 
 
Line 1: Line 1:
1975-05-31 Rodrigo Valdez w rsc 8 (15) Ramon Mendez, The Coliseum, Cali, Colombia - WBC. Referee: Humberto Caceres. After sizing Mendez (159) up in the first round, the champion quickly got down to work, twice dropping the Argentinian in the second from left hooks. Although Mendez went through the next two sessions relatively unscathed he was out of his depth and Valdez (160) picked up where he left off in the second when opening up in the fifth to drop his man again. Having been floored in the seventh and twice in the eighth, Mendez, his left eye almost closed, was rescued by the referee following the second knockdown.   
+
1975-05-31 [[Rodrigo Valdez]] w rsc 8 (15) [[Ramon Mendez]], The Coliseum, Cali, Colombia - WBC. Referee: Humberto Caceres. After sizing Mendez (159) up in the first round, the champion quickly got down to work, twice dropping the Argentinian in the second from left hooks. Although Mendez went through the next two sessions relatively unscathed he was out of his depth and Valdez (160) picked up where he left off in the second when opening up in the fifth to drop his man again. Having been floored in the seventh and twice in the eighth, Mendez, his left eye almost closed, was rescued by the referee following the second knockdown.   
  
 
[[Category: 1975 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1975 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Middleweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Middleweight Division]]

Latest revision as of 14:48, 29 February 2012

1975-05-31 Rodrigo Valdez w rsc 8 (15) Ramon Mendez, The Coliseum, Cali, Colombia - WBC. Referee: Humberto Caceres. After sizing Mendez (159) up in the first round, the champion quickly got down to work, twice dropping the Argentinian in the second from left hooks. Although Mendez went through the next two sessions relatively unscathed he was out of his depth and Valdez (160) picked up where he left off in the second when opening up in the fifth to drop his man again. Having been floored in the seventh and twice in the eighth, Mendez, his left eye almost closed, was rescued by the referee following the second knockdown.