Difference between revisions of "1976-07-17 Pipino Cuevas w rsc 2 (15) Angel Espada, Califa Bullring, Mexicali, Mexico - WBA"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
(Created page with "1976-07-17 Pipino Cuevas w rsc 2 (15) Angel Espada, Califa Bullring, Mexicali, Mexico - WBA. Referee: Isidro Rodriguez. Having chased the champion around the ring in the opening ...")
 
Line 1: Line 1:
1976-07-17 Pipino Cuevas w rsc 2 (15) Angel Espada, Califa Bullring, Mexicali, Mexico - WBA. Referee: Isidro Rodriguez. Having chased the champion around the ring in the opening session, Cuevas (146) quickly got down to work in the second and dropped his man early on with a looping left hook. Getting up, carrying a nasty cut over the right eye, Estaba (145) looked bewildered and he was quickly put down twice more, whereupon the fight was automatically stopped on the one minute mark under the three knockdowns in one round ruling.   
+
1976-07-17 [[Pipino Cuevas]] w rsc 2 (15) [[Angel Espada]], Califa Bullring, Mexicali, Mexico - WBA. Referee: Isidro Rodriguez. Having chased the champion around the ring in the opening session, Cuevas (146) quickly got down to work in the second and dropped his man early on with a looping left hook. Getting up, carrying a nasty cut over the right eye, Estaba (145) looked bewildered and he was quickly put down twice more, whereupon the fight was automatically stopped on the one minute mark under the three knockdowns in one round ruling.   
  
[[Category: 1976 Welterweight Title Contests]]
+
[[Category: 1976 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Welterweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Welterweight Division]]

Revision as of 16:37, 6 February 2012

1976-07-17 Pipino Cuevas w rsc 2 (15) Angel Espada, Califa Bullring, Mexicali, Mexico - WBA. Referee: Isidro Rodriguez. Having chased the champion around the ring in the opening session, Cuevas (146) quickly got down to work in the second and dropped his man early on with a looping left hook. Getting up, carrying a nasty cut over the right eye, Estaba (145) looked bewildered and he was quickly put down twice more, whereupon the fight was automatically stopped on the one minute mark under the three knockdowns in one round ruling.