Difference between revisions of "1978-02-19 Freddy Castillo w rsc 14 (15) Luis Estaba, New Circus Bullring, Caracas, Venezuela - WBC"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
 
(One intermediate revision by the same user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
1978-02-19 [[Freddie Castillo]] w rsc 14 (15) [[Luis Estaba]], New Circus Bullring, Caracas, Venezuela - WBC. Referee: Jay Edson. Making his 12th defence, Estaba (107) dominated proceedings for the first eight rounds until age finally caught up with him. Floored by the little-known southpaw, Castillo (106½), in the 12th and in trouble again the following round, Estaba was eventually punched through the ropes in the 14th. Although Estaba somehow beat the count he was smashed to the canvas by a left hook and rescued by the referee on the 2.30 mark.  
+
1978-02-19 [[Freddy Castillo]] w rsc 14 (15) [[Luis Estaba]], New Circus Bullring, Caracas, Venezuela - WBC. Referee: Jay Edson. Making his 12th defence, Estaba (107) dominated proceedings for the first eight rounds until age finally caught up with him. Floored by the little-known southpaw, Castillo (106½), in the 12th and in trouble again the following round, Estaba was eventually punched through the ropes in the 14th. Although Estaba somehow beat the count he was smashed to the canvas by a left hook and rescued by the referee on the 2.30 mark.  
  
 
[[Category: 1978 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1978 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Junior Flyweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Junior Flyweight Division]]

Latest revision as of 09:21, 28 December 2011

1978-02-19 Freddy Castillo w rsc 14 (15) Luis Estaba, New Circus Bullring, Caracas, Venezuela - WBC. Referee: Jay Edson. Making his 12th defence, Estaba (107) dominated proceedings for the first eight rounds until age finally caught up with him. Floored by the little-known southpaw, Castillo (106½), in the 12th and in trouble again the following round, Estaba was eventually punched through the ropes in the 14th. Although Estaba somehow beat the count he was smashed to the canvas by a left hook and rescued by the referee on the 2.30 mark.