1982-12-11 Bobby Chacon w pts 15 Rafael Limon, Memorial Auditorium, Sacramento, California, USA - WBC

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Revision as of 04:19, 25 September 2012 by Hugman (Talk | contribs)

Jump to: navigation, search

1982-12-11 Bobby Chacon w pts 15 Rafael Limon, Memorial Auditorium, Sacramento, California, USA - WBC. Referee: Isaac Herrera. Scorecards: 142-141, 141-140, 143-141. In one of the division’s fiercest ever fights, Chacon (129¾) came back strongly over the last three rounds after being badly hurt, cut up and knocked down twice, to finally land the title. At the start of the 13th Limon (129), who was out in front, probably thought Chacon had left it too late and many would have agreed with him. From the moment the bell rang, the southpaw Chacon was rejuvenated as he tore into Limon with a vengeance, smashing in blows and finding his right-hand lead especially effective. Somehow the champion kept going, but eventually he was dropped after taking two mighty overarm rights. Although he got up the knockdown had made all the difference to the scorecards and gave Chacon the result he craved.

As at 1 January 1983, all WBC world title fights would be contested over 12 rounds and the first in this weight division was due to be held on 15 May 1983 between Bobby Chacon and Cornelius Boza-Edwards at Caesar’s Palace, Las Vegas, Nevada. Unfortunately, although the fight went ahead, with Chacon winning on points over 12 rounds, the WBC refused to recognise it as a championship contest due to a contractual dispute with the promoter, Don King, and the fight went ahead as ‘The Peoples Championship’. That was followed by an announcement from the WBC on 26 June 1983 that due to Chacon violating the WBC rulebook, mainly with timely defences, he had been stripped of the title forthwith.

Further to that, Limon and Hector Camacho were matched to contest the vacant title. Rated the number-two challenger by The Ring magazine, Camacho was undefeated after 21 contests, having beaten Refugio Rojas, Johnny Sato, Melvin Paul, Greg Coverson, John Montes and Irleis Perez. Fast of hand and foot, with a good range of punches, Camacho was the reigning NABF champion.