Difference between revisions of "1984-05-26 Victor Callejas w co 8 (15) Loris Stecca, Mets Pavilion, Guaynabo, Puerto Rico - WBA"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
 
(3 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
1984-05-26 [[Victor Callejas]] w co 8 (15) [[Loris Stecca]], Mets Pavilion, Guaynabo, Puerto Rico - WBA. Referee: Larry Rozadilla. Having made a good start Callejas (121½) went on the defensive in round four as the aggressive Stecca (122) plodded forward, but realising that to win the title he would have to do more he effectively picked up the pace in the eighth, hitting the latter at will. Towards the end of the session a left-right combination dropped Stecca and on getting to his feet a volley of blows put the Italian on the canvas again, battered and bleeding, where the referee counted him out with just two seconds of the round remaining.   
+
1984-05-26 [[Victor Callejas]] w co 8 (15) [[Loris Stecca]], Mets Pavilion, Guaynabo, Puerto Rico - WBA. Referee: Larry Rozadilla. Having made a good start, Callejas (121½) surprisingly went on the defensive in round four as the aggressive Stecca (122) plodded forward. However, realising that to win the title he would have to do more he effectively picked up the pace in the eighth, hitting Stecca at will before dropping him with a left-right combination.  Although Stecca got to his feet, after a volley of blows put him on the canvas again, battered and bleeding, he was counted out with just two seconds of the round remaining.   
  
 
[[Category: 1984 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1984 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Junior Featherweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Junior Featherweight Division]]

Latest revision as of 11:37, 19 March 2013

1984-05-26 Victor Callejas w co 8 (15) Loris Stecca, Mets Pavilion, Guaynabo, Puerto Rico - WBA. Referee: Larry Rozadilla. Having made a good start, Callejas (121½) surprisingly went on the defensive in round four as the aggressive Stecca (122) plodded forward. However, realising that to win the title he would have to do more he effectively picked up the pace in the eighth, hitting Stecca at will before dropping him with a left-right combination. Although Stecca got to his feet, after a volley of blows put him on the canvas again, battered and bleeding, he was counted out with just two seconds of the round remaining.