1984-05-26 Victor Callejas w co 8 (15) Loris Stecca, Mets Pavilion, Guaynabo, Puerto Rico - WBA

From Barry Hugman's History of World Championship Boxing
(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
 
(2 intermediate revisions by one user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
1984-05-26 [[Victor Callejas]] w co 8 (15) [[Loris Stecca]], Mets Pavilion, Guaynabo, Puerto Rico - WBA. Referee: Larry Rozadilla. Having made a good start, Callejas (121½) surprisingly went on the defensive in round four as the aggressive Stecca (122) plodded forward. However, realising that to win the title he would have to do more he effectively picked up the pace in the eighth, hitting the latter at will, before dropping Stecca with a left-right combination.  Although Stecca got to his feet, after a volley of blows put him on the canvas again, battered and bleeding, the referee counted him out with just two seconds of the round remaining.   
+
1984-05-26 [[Victor Callejas]] w co 8 (15) [[Loris Stecca]], Mets Pavilion, Guaynabo, Puerto Rico - WBA. Referee: Larry Rozadilla. Having made a good start, Callejas (121½) surprisingly went on the defensive in round four as the aggressive Stecca (122) plodded forward. However, realising that to win the title he would have to do more he effectively picked up the pace in the eighth, hitting Stecca at will before dropping him with a left-right combination.  Although Stecca got to his feet, after a volley of blows put him on the canvas again, battered and bleeding, he was counted out with just two seconds of the round remaining.   
  
 
[[Category: 1984 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1984 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Junior Featherweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Junior Featherweight Division]]

Latest revision as of 11:37, 19 March 2013

1984-05-26 Victor Callejas w co 8 (15) Loris Stecca, Mets Pavilion, Guaynabo, Puerto Rico - WBA. Referee: Larry Rozadilla. Having made a good start, Callejas (121½) surprisingly went on the defensive in round four as the aggressive Stecca (122) plodded forward. However, realising that to win the title he would have to do more he effectively picked up the pace in the eighth, hitting Stecca at will before dropping him with a left-right combination. Although Stecca got to his feet, after a volley of blows put him on the canvas again, battered and bleeding, he was counted out with just two seconds of the round remaining.

Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
Toolbox
Google AdSense