Difference between revisions of "1985-04-19 Juan Meza w rsc 6 (12) Mike Ayala, Inglewood Forum, Los Angeles, California, USA - WBC"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
 
Line 1: Line 1:
1985-04-19 [[Juan Meza]] w rsc 6 (12) [[Mike Ayala]], Inglewood Forum, Los Angeles, California, USA - WBC. Referee: John Thomas. On the attack from the start, Meza (121½) worked away with both hands to outpunch Ayala (121¾), who seemed hesitant and was never really in the fight apart from the odd burst of punches. Backed into a neutral corner in the sixth round, the challenger was unable to shake Meza off despite landing a series of left hooks. With blood pouring from his right eye he was put down on one knee before rising and being rescued by the referee at 1.31 of the session.       
+
1985-04-19 [[Juan Meza]] w rsc 6 (12) [[Mike Ayala]], Inglewood Forum, Los Angeles, California, USA - WBC. Referee: John Thomas. On the attack from the start, Meza (121½) worked away with both hands to outpunch Ayala (121¾), who was never really in the fight apart from the odd burst of punches. Backed into a neutral corner in the sixth round, the challenger was unable to shake Meza off despite landing a series of left hooks. With blood pouring from his right eye he was put down on one knee before rising and being rescued by the referee at 1.31 of the session.       
  
 
[[Category: 1985 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1985 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Junior Featherweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Junior Featherweight Division]]

Latest revision as of 10:56, 24 March 2013

1985-04-19 Juan Meza w rsc 6 (12) Mike Ayala, Inglewood Forum, Los Angeles, California, USA - WBC. Referee: John Thomas. On the attack from the start, Meza (121½) worked away with both hands to outpunch Ayala (121¾), who was never really in the fight apart from the odd burst of punches. Backed into a neutral corner in the sixth round, the challenger was unable to shake Meza off despite landing a series of left hooks. With blood pouring from his right eye he was put down on one knee before rising and being rescued by the referee at 1.31 of the session.