Difference between revisions of "1985-08-23 Jeff Fenech w rsc 3 (15) Satoshi Shingaki, Homebush Sporting Complex, Sydney, Australia - IBF"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
(Add Bantam Page)
 
Line 1: Line 1:
23 August Jeff Fenech w rsc 3 (15) Satoshi Shingaki, Homebush Sporting Complex, Sydney, Australia - IBF. Referee: Jay Edson. A return match again saw Fenech (117½) getting off to a bright start against Shingaki (117), and a cracking left hook from the Aussie gashed the former champion’s right eye in the second round. Told that he would be given just a few minutes to see if he could turn things around, Shingaki was allowed out for the third session. However, it was soon obvious that he could not carry on for much longer and he was pulled out by the referee on the advice of the ringside doctor at the end of the round.
+
1985-08-23 [[Jeff Fenech]] w rsc 3 (15) [[Satoshi Shingaki]], Homebush Sporting Complex, Sydney, Australia - IBF. Referee: Jay Edson. A return match again saw Fenech (117½) getting off to a bright start against Shingaki (117), and a cracking left hook from the Aussie gashed the former champion’s right eye in the second round. Told that he would be given just a few minutes to see if he could turn things around, Shingaki was allowed out for the third session. However, it was soon obvious that he could not carry on for much longer and he was pulled out by the referee on the advice of the ringside doctor at the end of the round.
 +
 
 +
[[Category: 1985 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Bantamweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Bantamweight Division]]

Revision as of 05:36, 20 February 2012

1985-08-23 Jeff Fenech w rsc 3 (15) Satoshi Shingaki, Homebush Sporting Complex, Sydney, Australia - IBF. Referee: Jay Edson. A return match again saw Fenech (117½) getting off to a bright start against Shingaki (117), and a cracking left hook from the Aussie gashed the former champion’s right eye in the second round. Told that he would be given just a few minutes to see if he could turn things around, Shingaki was allowed out for the third session. However, it was soon obvious that he could not carry on for much longer and he was pulled out by the referee on the advice of the ringside doctor at the end of the round.