Difference between revisions of "1985-12-20 Jong-Kwan Chung w rsc 4 (15) Soon-Chun Kwon, Kudok Gym, Pusan, South Korea - IBF"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
(Created page with "1985-12-20 Jong-Kwan Chung w rsc 4 (15) Soon-Chun Kwon, Kudok Gym, Pusan, South Korea - IBF. Referee: Yasujiro Fujimoto. Initially it was thought that Kwon (111½), whose right e...")
 
Line 1: Line 1:
1985-12-20 Jong-Kwan Chung w rsc 4 (15) Soon-Chun Kwon, Kudok Gym, Pusan, South Korea - IBF. Referee: Yasujiro Fujimoto. Initially it was thought that Kwon (111½), whose right eye was pouring blood, had retained his title when the referee stopped the fight at 1.15 of the fourth and declared the result a technical draw. He did this on the grounds that he felt accidental headwork had caused the injury.  However, after much ringside discussion the officials in charge felt that the damage had been caused by punches and Chung (111½) was announced as the winner by stoppage.  
+
1985-12-20 [[Jong-Kwan Chung]] w rsc 4 (15) [[Soon-Chun Kwon]], Kudok Gym, Pusan, South Korea - IBF. Referee: Yasujiro Fujimoto. Initially it was thought that Kwon (111½), whose right eye was pouring blood, had retained his title when the referee stopped the fight at 1.15 of the fourth and declared the result a technical draw. He did this on the grounds that he felt accidental headwork had caused the injury.  However, after much ringside discussion the officials in charge felt that the damage had been caused by punches and Chung (111½) was announced as the winner by stoppage.  
  
[[Category: 1985 Flyweight Title Contests]]
+
[[Category: 1985 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Flyweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Flyweight Division]]

Revision as of 10:24, 31 December 2011

1985-12-20 Jong-Kwan Chung w rsc 4 (15) Soon-Chun Kwon, Kudok Gym, Pusan, South Korea - IBF. Referee: Yasujiro Fujimoto. Initially it was thought that Kwon (111½), whose right eye was pouring blood, had retained his title when the referee stopped the fight at 1.15 of the fourth and declared the result a technical draw. He did this on the grounds that he felt accidental headwork had caused the injury. However, after much ringside discussion the officials in charge felt that the damage had been caused by punches and Chung (111½) was announced as the winner by stoppage.