1987-02-22 Lloyd Honeyghan w rsc 2 (15) Johnny Bumphus, Grand Hall, Wembley, London, England - IBF/WBC

From Barry Hugman's History of World Championship Boxing
(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
 
(2 intermediate revisions by one user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
1987-02-22 [[Lloyd Honeyghan]] w rsc 2 (15) [[Johnny Bumphus]], Grand Hall, Wembley, London, England - IBF/WBC. Referee: Sam Williams. Officially, only the IBF portion of the title was involved as the WBC no longer saw 15 rounds as the championship distance and had Honeyghan lost they would have stripped him rather than recognise the winner.  
+
1987-02-22 [[Lloyd Honeyghan]] w rsc 2 (15) [[Johnny Bumphus]], Grand Hall, Wembley, London, England - IBF/WBC. Referee: Sam Williams. The fight began with the champion opening up straight away to blaze into Bumphus (145½), and eventually a left jab followed by a solid straight right dropped the latter, who was forced to take the mandatory ‘eight’ before being stunned again before the bell. With great expectations for Honeyghan (146½), the second round started controversially as he tore out of his corner to smash in a left hook that floored Bumphus, who was still in the process of getting off his stool. With Bumphus’ cornermen still partially in the ring, when his manager climbed back in to claim a disqualification win it was half a minute before the referee asked the judges to deduct a point from Honeyghan and the fight recommenced. He need not have bothered as Bumphus was almost through for the night. After 55 seconds of the session the referee stopped the uneven contest when a Honeyghan blast saw the American sliding towards the floor under a barrage of blows. There was no doubt that blame for the incident in question lay entirely with the referee, as he had allowed Honeyghan to advance to mid-ring before the bell had been rung.  
  
The fight began with the champion opening up straight away to blaze into Bumphus (145½) and eventually a left jab followed by a solid straight right dropped the latter, who was forced to take the mandatory ‘eight’ before getting back and being stunned again before the bell. With great expectations for Honeyghan (146½), the second round started controversially as he tore out of his corner to smash in a left hook that floored Bumphus, who was still in the process of getting off his stool. Bumphus’ cornermen were still partially in the ring and when his manager climbed back in to claim a disqualification win it was a fully half minute before the referee asked the judges to deduct a point from Honeyghan and the fight recommenced. He needn’t have bothered as Bumphus was almost through for the night and after 55 seconds of the session the referee stopped the uneven contest when a Honeyghan blast saw him sliding towards the floor under a barrage of blows. There was no doubt that blame for the incident in question lay entirely with the referee, as he had allowed Honeyghan to advance to mid-ring before the bell had been rung.  
+
Officially, only the IBF portion of the title was involved as the WBC no longer saw 15 rounds as the championship distance and had Honeyghan lost they would have stripped him rather than recognise the winner.  
  
 
[[Category: 1987 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1987 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Welterweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Welterweight Division]]

Latest revision as of 11:23, 1 June 2013

1987-02-22 Lloyd Honeyghan w rsc 2 (15) Johnny Bumphus, Grand Hall, Wembley, London, England - IBF/WBC. Referee: Sam Williams. The fight began with the champion opening up straight away to blaze into Bumphus (145½), and eventually a left jab followed by a solid straight right dropped the latter, who was forced to take the mandatory ‘eight’ before being stunned again before the bell. With great expectations for Honeyghan (146½), the second round started controversially as he tore out of his corner to smash in a left hook that floored Bumphus, who was still in the process of getting off his stool. With Bumphus’ cornermen still partially in the ring, when his manager climbed back in to claim a disqualification win it was half a minute before the referee asked the judges to deduct a point from Honeyghan and the fight recommenced. He need not have bothered as Bumphus was almost through for the night. After 55 seconds of the session the referee stopped the uneven contest when a Honeyghan blast saw the American sliding towards the floor under a barrage of blows. There was no doubt that blame for the incident in question lay entirely with the referee, as he had allowed Honeyghan to advance to mid-ring before the bell had been rung.

Officially, only the IBF portion of the title was involved as the WBC no longer saw 15 rounds as the championship distance and had Honeyghan lost they would have stripped him rather than recognise the winner.

Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
Toolbox
Google AdSense