1987-04-06 Sugar Ray Leonard w pts 12 Marvin Hagler, Caesar’s Palace, Las Vegas, Nevada, USA - WBC/IBF

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Revision as of 06:27, 29 February 2012 by Hugman (Talk | contribs)

Jump to: navigation, search

1987-04-06 Sugar Ray Leonard w pts 12 Marvin Hagler, Caesar’s Palace, Las Vegas, Nevada, USA - WBC/IBF. Referee: Richard Steele. Scorecards: 118-110, 115-113, 113-115. In what turned out to be the last fight in a great career for Hagler (160) he seemed to be unfortunate to lose his title to Leonard (160) after what had been a very close contest, regardless of what one of the judges thought. As expected, Leonard started fast and took the opening four rounds before Hagler, hurting his rival with big southpaw hooks in the fifth, began to get more and more into the fight from there onwards. In the seventh, after having a good sixth, Leonard appeared to be weakening and in the eighth his left eye was beginning to swell, but he continued to rally before meeting Hagler punch for punch in the ninth before being hurt by left hooks. However, from thereon Leonard began to fade, fighting in bursts and dancing away out of trouble. While there was no doubting that Hagler thought he had retained his title, Boxing News, Britain’s trade paper, giving him seven rounds to Leonard’s four, his disappointment showed when saying the latter had boxed like a girl.

Following the fight, the IBF stated that they were vacating the title because they could not lend their support to Leonard, while on 26 May Herol Graham forfeited his chance of a crack at the WBA title when losing his European title to Sumbu Kalambay on points over 12 rounds at The Arena, Wembley, London, England.

A short while later, in June, all versions of the title were left vacant after Leonard announced that he was giving up the WBC belt in order to take a long break from boxing.

With the division in turmoil, Iran Barkley, who had earlier been matched against Michael Olajide for the IBF title was finally booked to meet Kalambay for the WBA crown, on the proviso that the winner gave Mike McCallum first crack and, with matches made between Thomas Hearns v Juan Domingo Roldan (WBC) and Olajide v Frank Tate (IBF), the championship would be split three ways.