Difference between revisions of "1987-07-25 Miguel Lora w rsc 4 (12) Jose Antonio Avelar, Marine Stadium, Miami, Florida, USA - WBC"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
(Add Bantam Page)
 
Line 1: Line 1:
25 July Miguel Lora w rsc 4 (12) Jose Antonio Avelar, Marine Stadium, Miami, Florida, USA - WBC. Referee: Jose Simon De Lima. Defending his title on an anchored barge, Lora (118), countering and using the left jab well, made a good start against the aggressive Avelar (118), who, after hurting the champion with a right to the head in the opening round found himself being outboxed. In the fourth, Lora opened up after a right followed by a left hook stopped Avelar in his tracks and was pounding his man without reply when the referee made a timely intervention at 2.09 of the session.
+
1987-07-25 [[Miguel Lora]] w rsc 4 (12) [[Jose Antonio Avelar]], Marine Stadium, Miami, Florida, USA - WBC. Referee: Jose Simon De Lima. Defending his title on an anchored barge, Lora (118), countering and using the left jab well, made a good start against the aggressive Avelar (118), who, after hurting the champion with a right to the head in the opening round found himself being outboxed. In the fourth, Lora opened up after a right followed by a left hook stopped Avelar in his tracks and was pounding his man without reply when the referee made a timely intervention at 2.09 of the session.
 +
 
 +
[[Category: 1987 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Bantamweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Bantamweight Division]]

Revision as of 05:51, 20 February 2012

1987-07-25 Miguel Lora w rsc 4 (12) Jose Antonio Avelar, Marine Stadium, Miami, Florida, USA - WBC. Referee: Jose Simon De Lima. Defending his title on an anchored barge, Lora (118), countering and using the left jab well, made a good start against the aggressive Avelar (118), who, after hurting the champion with a right to the head in the opening round found himself being outboxed. In the fourth, Lora opened up after a right followed by a left hook stopped Avelar in his tracks and was pounding his man without reply when the referee made a timely intervention at 2.09 of the session.