Difference between revisions of "1989-10-31 Khaosai Galaxy w rsc 12 Kenji Matsumura, Port Island World Memorial Hall, Kobe, Japan - WBA"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
 
(2 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
1989-10-31 [[Khaosai Galaxy]] w rsc 12 [[Kenji Matsumura]], Port Island World Memorial Hall, Kobe, Japan - WBA. Referee: Rudy Battle. A return match saw Galaxy (115) get off to a good start, flooring Matsumura (115) in the third round following a two-fisted attack, and continue to put his man under pressure from thereon. In the eighth the challenger was again put down, this time from a left-right-left combination. Although weakening fast Matsumura somehow made it to the 12th session before being dropped heavily from left hooks and rescued by the referee, who stopped the count with just four seconds remaining.     
+
1989-10-31 [[Khaosai Galaxy]] w rsc 12 [[Kenji Matsumura]], Port Island World Memorial Hall, Kobe, Japan - WBA. Referee: Rudy Battle. A return match saw Galaxy (115) get off to a good start, flooring Matsumura (115) in the third round following a two-fisted attack and continuing to put his man under pressure from there on. In the eighth the challenger was again put down, this time from a left-right-left combination. Although weakening fast, Matsumura somehow made it to the 12th session before being dropped heavily from left hooks and rescued by the referee, who stopped the count with just four seconds remaining.     
  
 
[[Category: 1989 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1989 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Junior Bantamweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Junior Bantamweight Division]]

Latest revision as of 07:37, 11 March 2013

1989-10-31 Khaosai Galaxy w rsc 12 Kenji Matsumura, Port Island World Memorial Hall, Kobe, Japan - WBA. Referee: Rudy Battle. A return match saw Galaxy (115) get off to a good start, flooring Matsumura (115) in the third round following a two-fisted attack and continuing to put his man under pressure from there on. In the eighth the challenger was again put down, this time from a left-right-left combination. Although weakening fast, Matsumura somehow made it to the 12th session before being dropped heavily from left hooks and rescued by the referee, who stopped the count with just four seconds remaining.