Difference between revisions of "1989-12-09 Valerio Nati w disq 4 Kenny Mitchell, Sports Palace, Teramo, Italy - WBO"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
 
Line 1: Line 1:
1989-12-09 [[Valerio Nati]] w disq 4 [[Kenny Mitchell]], Sports Palace, Teramo, Italy -WBO. Referee: Viso Fernandez. After bundling his challenger around the ring and generally looking to win inside the distance, Mitchell was disqualified for illegal use of the head in round four after Nati was cut so badly that the doctor ruled he could not continue. However, on going to the cards and finding that Mitchell was ahead on all three, he was awarded the fight on points before the officials thought better of it and reverted to a disqualification win for the Italian.     
+
1989-12-09 [[Valerio Nati]] w disq 4 [[Kenny Mitchell]], Sports Palace, Teramo, Italy -WBO. Referee: Viso Fernandez. After bundling his challenger around the ring and generally looking to win inside the distance, Mitchell was disqualified for illegal use of the head in round four after Nati was cut so badly that the doctor ruled he could not continue. However, on going to the cards and finding that Mitchell was ahead on all three he was awarded the fight on points. That was before the officials thought better of it and reverted to a disqualification win for the Italian.     
  
 
[[Category: 1989 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1989 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Junior Featherweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Junior Featherweight Division]]

Latest revision as of 13:21, 24 March 2013

1989-12-09 Valerio Nati w disq 4 Kenny Mitchell, Sports Palace, Teramo, Italy -WBO. Referee: Viso Fernandez. After bundling his challenger around the ring and generally looking to win inside the distance, Mitchell was disqualified for illegal use of the head in round four after Nati was cut so badly that the doctor ruled he could not continue. However, on going to the cards and finding that Mitchell was ahead on all three he was awarded the fight on points. That was before the officials thought better of it and reverted to a disqualification win for the Italian.