Difference between revisions of "1990-09-30 Marcos Villasana w rsc 8 Javier Marquez, Calafia Bullring, Mexicali, Mexico - WBC"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
 
(One intermediate revision by the same user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
1990-09-30 [[Marcos Villasana]] w rsc 8 [[Javier Marquez]], Calafia Bullring, Mexicali, Mexico - WBC. Referee: Richard Steele. Dominating the opening two rounds the challenger jabbed and moved well, but when he was cut on the left eye towards the end of the second the game plan went out of the window and by the fourth Villasana (126) had taken command. By then, Marquez (126) was a spent force and late in the seventh he was dropped by a left to the liver before the referee saved him from further punishment at 1.56 of the eighth.
+
1990-09-30 [[Marcos Villasana]] w rsc 8 [[Javier Marquez]], Calafia Bullring, Mexicali, Mexico - WBC. Referee: Richard Steele. Dominating the opening two rounds the challenger jabbed and moved well, but when he was cut on the left eye towards the end of the second his game plan went out of the window. Picking it up in the fourth, Villasana (126) was now in command of the fight. By then, with Marquez (126) a spent force, he was dropped by a left to the liver late in the seventh before the referee saved him from further punishment at 1.56 of the eighth.
  
 
[[Category: 1990 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1990 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Featherweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Featherweight Division]]

Latest revision as of 09:14, 6 April 2013

1990-09-30 Marcos Villasana w rsc 8 Javier Marquez, Calafia Bullring, Mexicali, Mexico - WBC. Referee: Richard Steele. Dominating the opening two rounds the challenger jabbed and moved well, but when he was cut on the left eye towards the end of the second his game plan went out of the window. Picking it up in the fourth, Villasana (126) was now in command of the fight. By then, with Marquez (126) a spent force, he was dropped by a left to the liver late in the seventh before the referee saved him from further punishment at 1.56 of the eighth.