1992-08-29 Freddie Pendleton tdraw 2 Tracy Spann, Sparks Convention Centre, Reno, Nevada, USA - IBF

From Barry Hugman's History of World Championship Boxing
(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
 
(One intermediate revision by one user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
1992-08-29 [[Freddie Pendleton]] tdraw 2 [[Tracy Spann]], Sparks Convention Centre, Reno, Nevada, USA - IBF. Referee: Richard Steele. In a fight to decide the championship after [[Pernell Whitaker]] had moved up a division, Pendleton (134) was dropped in the first by a short left and after shaking the southpaw Spann (135) up with rights to the head in the second an accidental clash of heads left him with a two-inch cut on the right eyebrow. The injury was so bad that the referee had no alternative other than to record a no decision (a technical draw for our purposes) under IBF rules and bring the contest to a halt.  
+
1992-08-29 [[Freddie Pendleton]] tdraw 2 [[Tracy Spann]], Sparks Convention Centre, Reno, Nevada, USA - IBF. Referee: Richard Steele. In a fight to decide the championship after [[Pernell Whitaker]] had moved up a division, Pendleton (134) was dropped in the first by a short left, but after shaking the southpaw Spann (135) up with rights to the head in the second an accidental clash of heads left him with a two-inch cut on the right eyebrow. The injury was so bad that the referee had no alternative other than to record a no-decision (a technical draw for our purposes) under IBF rules and bring the contest to a halt.  
  
 
In the immediate aftermath the IBF called for a rematch as soon as Pendleton was ready.
 
In the immediate aftermath the IBF called for a rematch as soon as Pendleton was ready.

Latest revision as of 11:35, 22 April 2013

1992-08-29 Freddie Pendleton tdraw 2 Tracy Spann, Sparks Convention Centre, Reno, Nevada, USA - IBF. Referee: Richard Steele. In a fight to decide the championship after Pernell Whitaker had moved up a division, Pendleton (134) was dropped in the first by a short left, but after shaking the southpaw Spann (135) up with rights to the head in the second an accidental clash of heads left him with a two-inch cut on the right eyebrow. The injury was so bad that the referee had no alternative other than to record a no-decision (a technical draw for our purposes) under IBF rules and bring the contest to a halt.

In the immediate aftermath the IBF called for a rematch as soon as Pendleton was ready.

Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
Toolbox
Google AdSense