Difference between revisions of "1993-06-19 Orlando Canizales tdraw 3 Derrick Whiteboy, The Summit, Houston, Texas, USA - IBF"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
 
(One intermediate revision by the same user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
1993-06-19 [[Orlando Canizales]] tdraw 3 [[Derrick Whiteboy]], The Summit, Houston, Texas, USA - IBF. Referee: Bobby Gonzalez. With Whiteboy (115¾) staying on the outside for the opening couple of rounds and Canizales (118) chasing him nothing really happened of note, but come the third it was apparent that the challenger was beginning to move up a gear and looking to make a fight of it. Unfortunately, just when things were beginning to look interesting the pair clashed heads heavily, leaving Canizales, who sustained a badly cut left eye, unable to continue at 1.23 of the session. Anounced as being a no-contest, the decision was later recognised as a technical draw.
+
1993-06-19 [[Orlando Canizales]] tdraw 3 [[Derrick Whiteboy]], The Summit, Houston, Texas, USA - IBF. Referee: Bobby Gonzalez. With Whiteboy (115¾) staying on the outside for the opening couple of rounds and Canizales (118) chasing him nothing really happened of note, but come the third it was apparent that the challenger was beginning to move up a gear. Unfortunately, just when things were beginning to look interesting the pair clashed heads heavily, leaving Canizales, who sustained a badly cut left eye, unable to continue at 1.23 of the session. Announced as being a no-contest, the decision was later recognised as a technical draw.
  
 
[[Category: 1993 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1993 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Bantamweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Bantamweight Division]]

Latest revision as of 15:00, 23 November 2012

1993-06-19 Orlando Canizales tdraw 3 Derrick Whiteboy, The Summit, Houston, Texas, USA - IBF. Referee: Bobby Gonzalez. With Whiteboy (115¾) staying on the outside for the opening couple of rounds and Canizales (118) chasing him nothing really happened of note, but come the third it was apparent that the challenger was beginning to move up a gear. Unfortunately, just when things were beginning to look interesting the pair clashed heads heavily, leaving Canizales, who sustained a badly cut left eye, unable to continue at 1.23 of the session. Announced as being a no-contest, the decision was later recognised as a technical draw.