Difference between revisions of "1994-03-04 Julio Cesar Vasquez w rsc 2 Armand Picar, MGM Grand, Las Vegas, Nevada, USA - WBA"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
 
Line 1: Line 1:
1994-03-04 [[Julio Cesar Vasquez]] w rsc 2 [[Armand Picar]], MGM Grand, Las Vegas, Nevada, USA - WBA. Referee: Mitch Halpern. Having slammed Picar (153½) into the ropes with solid lefts in the opening session, the champion already looked to be too strong for his rival and in the second he quickly stepped up the pace. Lining Picar up with the southpaw jab, Vasquez (154) was soon sending in big lefts, one of which had the Filipino over for ‘two’ early on. Following that success, Vasquez had Picar down again, this time for ‘six’, from a short left to the head and when the latter was floored for the third time following a series of blows the referee called it off on the 2.05 mark under the three knockdowns in a round ruling.           
+
1994-03-04 [[Julio Cesar Vasquez]] w rsc 2 [[Armand Picar]], MGM Grand, Las Vegas, Nevada, USA - WBA. Referee: Mitch Halpern. Having slammed Picar (153½) into the ropes with solid lefts in the opening session, the champion quickly stepped up the pace in the second. Lining Picar up with the southpaw jab, Vasquez (154) was soon sending in big lefts, one of which had the Filipino over for ‘two’ early on. Following that success, Vasquez had Picar down again, this time for ‘six’, from a short left to the head, and when the latter was floored for the third time following a series of blows the referee called it off on the 2.05 mark under the three knockdowns in a round ruling.           
  
 
[[Category: 1994 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1994 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Junior Middleweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Junior Middleweight Division]]

Latest revision as of 15:02, 9 June 2013

1994-03-04 Julio Cesar Vasquez w rsc 2 Armand Picar, MGM Grand, Las Vegas, Nevada, USA - WBA. Referee: Mitch Halpern. Having slammed Picar (153½) into the ropes with solid lefts in the opening session, the champion quickly stepped up the pace in the second. Lining Picar up with the southpaw jab, Vasquez (154) was soon sending in big lefts, one of which had the Filipino over for ‘two’ early on. Following that success, Vasquez had Picar down again, this time for ‘six’, from a short left to the head, and when the latter was floored for the third time following a series of blows the referee called it off on the 2.05 mark under the three knockdowns in a round ruling.