Difference between revisions of "1994-11-12 Luis Santana w disq 5 Terry Norris, City Bullring, Mexico City, Mexico - WBC"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 1: Line 1:
1994-11-12 [[Luis Santana]] w disq 5 [[Terry Norris]], City Bullring, Mexico City, Mexico - WBC. Referee: Mitch Halpern. This was a fight that shouldn’t have taken place due to the fact that Santana (152½) had lost seven of his last ten and had been out of the ring for a year, but amazingly he was handed the title after Norris (151) was disqualified for rabbit punching in the fifth round. Right from the opening bell Norris made the mistake of trying to knock Santana out and he didn’t look good, especially in the third when both men stumbled down and the champion was given the mandatory count. Then, in the fourth, Norris was deducted a point following a clash of heads with the clumsy challenger. Realising that he had to do better, Norris began to get his punches off more cleanly in the fifth, but disaster struck when he unleashed a chopping left to the back of Santana’s head that sent him crashing down. At the moment of impact, Santana had been totally defenceless, having stumbled through the ropes, and although the ringside doctor claimed that the Dominican was faking it, after 12 minutes of inaction it eventually became apparent that he wasn’t when failing to recover quickly enough. The time of the disqualification was later given as being 2.02 of the fifth.                       
+
1994-11-12 [[Luis Santana]] w disq 5 [[Terry Norris]], City Bullring, Mexico City, Mexico - WBC. Referee: Mitch Halpern. This was a fight that should not have taken place due to the fact that Santana (152½) had lost seven of his last ten and had been out of the ring for a year, but amazingly he was handed the title after Norris (151) was disqualified for rabbit punching in the fifth round. Right from the opening bell Norris made the mistake of trying to knock Santana out and he did not look good, especially in the third when both men stumbled down and the champion was given the mandatory count. Then, in the fourth, Norris was deducted a point following a clash of heads with the clumsy challenger. Realising that he had to do better, Norris began to get his punches off more cleanly in the fifth, but disaster struck when he unleashed a chopping left to the back of Santana’s head that sent him crashing down. At the moment of impact, Santana had been totally defenceless, having stumbled through the ropes, and although the ringside doctor claimed that the Dominican was faking it, after 12 minutes of inaction it eventually became apparent that he was not when failing to recover quickly enough. The time of the disqualification was later given as being 2.02 of the fifth.                       
  
 
[[Category: 1994 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1994 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Junior Middleweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Junior Middleweight Division]]

Revision as of 11:35, 12 March 2012

1994-11-12 Luis Santana w disq 5 Terry Norris, City Bullring, Mexico City, Mexico - WBC. Referee: Mitch Halpern. This was a fight that should not have taken place due to the fact that Santana (152½) had lost seven of his last ten and had been out of the ring for a year, but amazingly he was handed the title after Norris (151) was disqualified for rabbit punching in the fifth round. Right from the opening bell Norris made the mistake of trying to knock Santana out and he did not look good, especially in the third when both men stumbled down and the champion was given the mandatory count. Then, in the fourth, Norris was deducted a point following a clash of heads with the clumsy challenger. Realising that he had to do better, Norris began to get his punches off more cleanly in the fifth, but disaster struck when he unleashed a chopping left to the back of Santana’s head that sent him crashing down. At the moment of impact, Santana had been totally defenceless, having stumbled through the ropes, and although the ringside doctor claimed that the Dominican was faking it, after 12 minutes of inaction it eventually became apparent that he was not when failing to recover quickly enough. The time of the disqualification was later given as being 2.02 of the fifth.