Difference between revisions of "1995-06-24 Harold Grey w pts 12 Julio Cesar Borboa, Bernardo Caraballo Coliseum, Cartagena, Colombia - IBF"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
 
Line 1: Line 1:
1995-06-24 [[Harold Grey]] w pts 12 [[Julio Cesar Borboa]], Bernardo Caraballo Coliseum, Cartagena, Colombia - IBF. Referee: Bill Connors. Scorecards: 116-112, 115-114, 113-115. Trying to regain his former title, Borboa (114½) was again unable to fully pierce the defences of Grey (115) when coming up against the jab and combinations that had been prevalent in their first contest, despite having some success. There were no knockdowns, with neither man being a puncher of note, and although the challenger ended with a flourish and did enough on one of the cards he was deemed to have lost on the other two.  
+
1995-06-24 [[Harold Grey]] w pts 12 [[Julio Cesar Borboa]], Bernardo Caraballo Coliseum, Cartagena, Colombia - IBF. Referee: Bill Connors. Scorecards: 116-112, 115-114, 113-115. Trying to regain his former title, Borboa (114½) was again unable to fully pierce the defences of Grey (115) when coming up against the jab and combinations that had been prevalent in their first contest, despite having some success. There were no knockdowns, with neither man being a puncher of note, and although the challenger ended with a flourish, doing enough on one of the cards, he was deemed to have lost on the other two.  
  
 
[[Category: 1995 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1995 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Junior Bantamweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Junior Bantamweight Division]]

Latest revision as of 17:30, 14 November 2012

1995-06-24 Harold Grey w pts 12 Julio Cesar Borboa, Bernardo Caraballo Coliseum, Cartagena, Colombia - IBF. Referee: Bill Connors. Scorecards: 116-112, 115-114, 113-115. Trying to regain his former title, Borboa (114½) was again unable to fully pierce the defences of Grey (115) when coming up against the jab and combinations that had been prevalent in their first contest, despite having some success. There were no knockdowns, with neither man being a puncher of note, and although the challenger ended with a flourish, doing enough on one of the cards, he was deemed to have lost on the other two.