Difference between revisions of "1995-12-01 Johnny Tapia w rtd 9 Willy Salazar, Fantasy Springs Resort, Indio, California, USA - WBO"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
(Created page with "1995-12-01 Johnny Tapia w rtd 9 Willy Salazar, Fantasy Springs Resort, Indio, California, USA - WBO. Referee: Raul Caiz. Taking five rounds to warm up and having caused damage to...")
 
(2 intermediate revisions by 2 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
1995-12-01 Johnny Tapia w rtd 9 Willy Salazar, Fantasy Springs Resort, Indio, California, USA - WBO. Referee: Raul Caiz. Taking five rounds to warm up and having caused damage to an eye when accidentally butting the challenger in the second, Tapia (115) found Salazar (114) a difficult target with the jab and began to concentrate more on the body. Eventually it had an effect and with just seconds left in the ninth Salazar was hurt with a big left hook and follow up lefts and rights before retiring in his corner at the interval.     
+
1995-12-01 [[Johnny Tapia]] w rtd 9 [[Willy Salazar]], Fantasy Springs Resort, Indio, California, USA - WBO. Referee: Raul Caiz. Taking five rounds to warm up and having caused damage to an eye when accidentally butting the challenger in the second, Tapia (115) found Salazar (114) a difficult target with the jab before beginning to concentrate more on the body. Eventually it had an effect, and with just seconds left in the ninth Salazar was hurt with a big left hook and follow up lefts and rights before retiring in his corner at the interval.     
  
[[Category: 1995 Junior Bantamweight Title Contests]]
+
[[Category: 1995 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Junior Bantamweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Junior Bantamweight Division]]

Revision as of 17:33, 14 November 2012

1995-12-01 Johnny Tapia w rtd 9 Willy Salazar, Fantasy Springs Resort, Indio, California, USA - WBO. Referee: Raul Caiz. Taking five rounds to warm up and having caused damage to an eye when accidentally butting the challenger in the second, Tapia (115) found Salazar (114) a difficult target with the jab before beginning to concentrate more on the body. Eventually it had an effect, and with just seconds left in the ninth Salazar was hurt with a big left hook and follow up lefts and rights before retiring in his corner at the interval.