Difference between revisions of "1996-01-27 Nana Yaw Konadu w rsc 2 Veeraphol Sahaprom, The Stadium, Kanchunburi, Thailand - WBA"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 1: Line 1:
1996-01-27 [[Nana Yaw Konadu]] w rsc 2 [[Veeraphol Sahaprom]], The Stadium, Kanchunburi, Thailand - WBA. Referee: Mitch Halpern. Dropped by a left hook in the first round, Konadu (117) rose straight away, but was put under pressure by the champion’s left hooks to the body. That was before he pushed Sahaprom (118) back in the second session and floored him with a cracking right-hand punch to the jaw. Although Sahaprom got up at the count of three, he immediately fell back down and, on rising again, he was stumbling defenceless by the ropes when the referee decided that he had seen enough and stopped the contest with 23 seconds of the round remaining.
+
1996-01-27 [[Nana Yaw Konadu]] w rsc 2 [[Veeraphol Sahaprom]], The Stadium, Kanchunburi, Thailand - WBA. Referee: Mitch Halpern. Dropped by a left hook in the first round, Konadu (117) rose straight away, but was put under pressure by the champion’s left hooks to the body. That was before he pushed Sahaprom (118) back in the second session, flooring him with a cracking right-hand punch to the jaw. Although Sahaprom got up at the count of three he immediately fell back down, and on rising again he was stumbling defenceless by the ropes when the referee decided that he had seen enough, stopping the contest with 23 seconds of the round remaining.
  
 
[[Category: 1996 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1996 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Bantamweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Bantamweight Division]]

Revision as of 15:48, 23 November 2012

1996-01-27 Nana Yaw Konadu w rsc 2 Veeraphol Sahaprom, The Stadium, Kanchunburi, Thailand - WBA. Referee: Mitch Halpern. Dropped by a left hook in the first round, Konadu (117) rose straight away, but was put under pressure by the champion’s left hooks to the body. That was before he pushed Sahaprom (118) back in the second session, flooring him with a cracking right-hand punch to the jaw. Although Sahaprom got up at the count of three he immediately fell back down, and on rising again he was stumbling defenceless by the ropes when the referee decided that he had seen enough, stopping the contest with 23 seconds of the round remaining.