Difference between revisions of "1997-08-23 Wilfredo Vazquez w pts 12 Roque Cassiani, Madison Square Garden, Manhattan, NYC, New York, USA - WBA"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
 
Line 1: Line 1:
1997-08-23 [[Wilfredo Vazquez]] w pts 12 [[Roque Cassiani]], Madison Square Garden, Manhattan, NYC, New York, USA - WBA. Referee: Carl Schroeder. Scorecards: 118-110, 116-112, 116-110. Despite winning clearly on the cards the champion was unable to dislodge Cassiani (125½), who proved to be a very tough customer when taking everything that was thrown at him and coming back for more. Indeed, immediately after a left hook slammed into his head Cassiani dropped Vazquez (126) with a right to the jaw early in the tenth, thus enforcing the mandatory ‘eight’ count. Although stunned, the champion battled on strongly through to the final bell.   
+
1997-08-23 [[Wilfredo Vazquez]] w pts 12 [[Roque Cassiani]], Madison Square Garden, Manhattan, NYC, New York, USA - WBA. Referee: Carl Schroeder. Scorecards: 118-110, 116-112, 116-110. Despite winning clearly on the cards the champion was unable to dislodge Cassiani (125½), who proved to be a very tough customer when taking everything that was thrown at him and coming back for more. Indeed, immediately after a left hook slammed into his head Cassiani dropped Vazquez (126) with a right to the jaw early in the tenth, thus enforcing the mandatory ‘eight’ count. Although stunned, the champion battled on strongly through to the final bell and victory.   
  
 
[[Category: 1997 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1997 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Featherweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Featherweight Division]]

Latest revision as of 14:28, 6 April 2013

1997-08-23 Wilfredo Vazquez w pts 12 Roque Cassiani, Madison Square Garden, Manhattan, NYC, New York, USA - WBA. Referee: Carl Schroeder. Scorecards: 118-110, 116-112, 116-110. Despite winning clearly on the cards the champion was unable to dislodge Cassiani (125½), who proved to be a very tough customer when taking everything that was thrown at him and coming back for more. Indeed, immediately after a left hook slammed into his head Cassiani dropped Vazquez (126) with a right to the jaw early in the tenth, thus enforcing the mandatory ‘eight’ count. Although stunned, the champion battled on strongly through to the final bell and victory.