1998-04-25 Joe Calzaghe w rtd 9 Juan Carlos Gimenez, Ice Rink, Cardiff, Wales - WBO

From Barry Hugman's History of World Championship Boxing
(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
 
Line 1: Line 1:
1998-04-25 [[Joe Calzaghe]] w rtd 9 [[Juan Carlos Gimenez]], Ice Rink, Cardiff, Wales - WBO. Referee: Michael Ortega. Seemingly impervious to punishment, Gimenez (166½) failed to win a round from Calzaghe (166½) before retiring on his stool at the end of the ninth round. In fact, Gimenez seemed quite happy to take everything thrown at him as if it were just another day at the office. Having failed to drop the Paraguayan with head shots, the southpaw champion eventually went downstairs and it was suspected that the enforced retirement was due to Gimenez possibly suffering a punctured lung from a broken rib.     
+
1998-04-25 [[Joe Calzaghe]] w rtd 9 [[Juan Carlos Gimenez]], Ice Rink, Cardiff, Wales - WBO. Referee: Michael Ortega. Seemingly impervious to punishment, Gimenez (166½) failed to win a round from Calzaghe (166½) before retiring on his stool at the end of the ninth round. In fact, Gimenez seemed quite happy to take everything thrown at him as if it was just another day at the office. Having failed to drop the Paraguayan with head shots the southpaw champion eventually went downstairs, and it was suspected that the enforced retirement was due to Gimenez possibly suffering a punctured lung from a broken rib.     
  
 
[[Category: 1998 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1998 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Super Middleweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Super Middleweight Division]]

Latest revision as of 09:56, 1 July 2013

1998-04-25 Joe Calzaghe w rtd 9 Juan Carlos Gimenez, Ice Rink, Cardiff, Wales - WBO. Referee: Michael Ortega. Seemingly impervious to punishment, Gimenez (166½) failed to win a round from Calzaghe (166½) before retiring on his stool at the end of the ninth round. In fact, Gimenez seemed quite happy to take everything thrown at him as if it was just another day at the office. Having failed to drop the Paraguayan with head shots the southpaw champion eventually went downstairs, and it was suspected that the enforced retirement was due to Gimenez possibly suffering a punctured lung from a broken rib.

Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
Toolbox
Google AdSense