Difference between revisions of "1998-11-28 Luisito Espinosa w rsc 2 Kennedy McKinney, Fantasy Springs Casino, Indio, California, USA - WBC"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 1: Line 1:
1998-11-28 [[Luisito Espinosa]] w rsc 2 [[Kennedy McKinney]], Fantasy Springs Casino, Indio, California, USA - WBC. Referee: Marty Denkin. Making the eighth defence of his title, Espinosa (125) got off quickly to put McKinney (126) down with a long right following a sustained attack in the first round, and when the latter was back on his feet he was quickly staggered again before stumbling to his seat at the bell. At the start of the second, Espinosa tore out of his corner and it was no surprise that just 47 seconds later the referee stepped in to save the bemused McKinney from taking any further punishment after he had been beaten to the canvas by yet another overarm right.       
+
1998-11-28 [[Luisito Espinosa]] w rsc 2 [[Kennedy McKinney]], Fantasy Springs Casino, Indio, California, USA - WBC. Referee: Marty Denkin. Making the eighth defence of his title, Espinosa (125) got off quickly to put McKinney (126) down with a long right following a sustained attack in the first round, and when the latter was back on his feet he was quickly staggered again before stumbling to his seat at the bell. At the start of the second, when Espinosa tore out of his corner with a look of intent, it was no surprise that just 47 seconds later the referee stepped in to save the bemused McKinney from taking any further punishment after he had been beaten to the canvas by yet another overarm right.       
  
 
[[Category: 1998 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1998 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Featherweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Featherweight Division]]

Revision as of 16:59, 30 December 2012

1998-11-28 Luisito Espinosa w rsc 2 Kennedy McKinney, Fantasy Springs Casino, Indio, California, USA - WBC. Referee: Marty Denkin. Making the eighth defence of his title, Espinosa (125) got off quickly to put McKinney (126) down with a long right following a sustained attack in the first round, and when the latter was back on his feet he was quickly staggered again before stumbling to his seat at the bell. At the start of the second, when Espinosa tore out of his corner with a look of intent, it was no surprise that just 47 seconds later the referee stepped in to save the bemused McKinney from taking any further punishment after he had been beaten to the canvas by yet another overarm right.