Difference between revisions of "1999-01-30 Bert Schenk w rsc 4 Freeman Barr, Stadium Hall, Cottbus, Germany - WBO"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
 
Line 1: Line 1:
1999-01-30 [[Bert Schenk]] w rsc 4 [[Freeman Barr]], Stadium Hall, Cottbus, Germany - WBO. Referee: Mark Nelson. Fighting for the title vacated by [[Otis Grant]], Schenk (159) got away well and was soon landing solid southpaw shots before stepping up in the third to hurt Barr (158) with body punches. Although Barr was always in contention he seemed to be falling behind on work rate and in the fourth he turned away before dropping on one knee and being counted out at 2.23 of the session. Afterwards Barr claimed that the left hook to the head that was responsible for the finish had temporarily blinded him.  
+
1999-01-30 [[Bert Schenk]] w rsc 4 [[Freeman Barr]], Stadium Hall, Cottbus, Germany - WBO. Referee: Mark Nelson. Fighting for the title vacated by [[Otis Grant]], Schenk (159) was soon landing solid southpaw shots before stepping up in the third to hurt Barr (158) with body punches. Although Barr was always in contention he seemed to be falling behind on work-rate. Then, in the fourth, Barr dropped on one knee after turning away and was counted out at 2.23 of the session. Afterwards, Barr claimed that the left hook to the head that was responsible for the finish had temporarily blinded him.  
  
 
[[Category: 1999 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 1999 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Middleweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Middleweight Division]]

Latest revision as of 09:08, 24 June 2013

1999-01-30 Bert Schenk w rsc 4 Freeman Barr, Stadium Hall, Cottbus, Germany - WBO. Referee: Mark Nelson. Fighting for the title vacated by Otis Grant, Schenk (159) was soon landing solid southpaw shots before stepping up in the third to hurt Barr (158) with body punches. Although Barr was always in contention he seemed to be falling behind on work-rate. Then, in the fourth, Barr dropped on one knee after turning away and was counted out at 2.23 of the session. Afterwards, Barr claimed that the left hook to the head that was responsible for the finish had temporarily blinded him.