Difference between revisions of "2002-09-27 Cruz Carbajal w rtd 4 Danny Romero, Isleta Casino, Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA - WBO"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
(Add Bantam Page)
 
Line 1: Line 1:
27 September Cruz Carbajal w rtd 4 Danny Romero, Isleta Casino, Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA - WBO. Referee: Russell Mora. The champion’s awkward style appeared to confuse Romero (118) and it was soon noticeable that hooks and uppercuts were impairing the latter’s vision when the right side of his face began to swell up alarmingly. In the fourth round, Romero, who was also being hurt on the inside by Carbajal (117¾), was asked by the referee whether he wanted to continue and although the answer was yes, he was pulled out of the fight by his corner after the session had ended.
+
2002-09-27 [[Cruz Carbajal]] w rtd 4 [[Danny Romero]], Isleta Casino, Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA - WBO. Referee: Russell Mora. The champion’s awkward style appeared to confuse Romero (118) and it was soon noticeable that hooks and uppercuts were impairing the latter’s vision when the right side of his face began to swell up alarmingly. In the fourth round, Romero, who was also being hurt on the inside by Carbajal (117¾), was asked by the referee whether he wanted to continue and although the answer was yes, he was pulled out of the fight by his corner after the session had ended.
 +
 
 +
[[Category: 2002 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Bantamweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Bantamweight Division]]

Revision as of 11:43, 21 February 2012

2002-09-27 Cruz Carbajal w rtd 4 Danny Romero, Isleta Casino, Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA - WBO. Referee: Russell Mora. The champion’s awkward style appeared to confuse Romero (118) and it was soon noticeable that hooks and uppercuts were impairing the latter’s vision when the right side of his face began to swell up alarmingly. In the fourth round, Romero, who was also being hurt on the inside by Carbajal (117¾), was asked by the referee whether he wanted to continue and although the answer was yes, he was pulled out of the fight by his corner after the session had ended.