Difference between revisions of "2004-11-12 Mikkel Kessler w rtd 7 Manny Siaca, Brondby Hall, Copenhagen, Denmark - WBA"

From Barry Hugman's History of Championship Boxing
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 1: Line 1:
2004-11-12 [[Mikkel Kessler]] w rtd 7 [[Manny Siaca]], Brondby Hall, Copenhagen, Denmark - WBA. Referee: Stan Christodoulou. By the end of round two the champion was already under pressure and by the fourth Kessler (168) was well in control as he pushed his man back with solid blows from both hands. Although Siaca (168) was dropped by a right to the jaw in the seventh it was not ruled as a count, but from thereon he had little chance of retaining his title as Kessler battered him throughout the session. It was no surprise when Siaca was retired by his corner at the end of the seventh after he had been taken apart by cracking combinations before slumping on to his stool.   
+
2004-11-12 [[Mikkel Kessler]] w rtd 7 [[Manny Siaca]], Brondby Hall, Copenhagen, Denmark - WBA. Referee: Stan Christodoulou. By the end of round two the champion was already under pressure and by the fourth Kessler (168) was well in control as he pushed his man back with solid blows from both hands. Although Siaca (168) was dropped by a right to the jaw in the seventh it was not ruled as a count, but thereafter he had little chance of retaining his title as Kessler battered him throughout the session. It was no surprise when Siaca was retired by his corner at the end of the seventh after he had been taken apart by cracking combinations before slumping on to his stool.   
 
   
 
   
 
[[Category: 2004 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: 2004 Title Contests]]
 
[[Category: Super Middleweight Division]]
 
[[Category: Super Middleweight Division]]

Revision as of 13:22, 23 March 2012

2004-11-12 Mikkel Kessler w rtd 7 Manny Siaca, Brondby Hall, Copenhagen, Denmark - WBA. Referee: Stan Christodoulou. By the end of round two the champion was already under pressure and by the fourth Kessler (168) was well in control as he pushed his man back with solid blows from both hands. Although Siaca (168) was dropped by a right to the jaw in the seventh it was not ruled as a count, but thereafter he had little chance of retaining his title as Kessler battered him throughout the session. It was no surprise when Siaca was retired by his corner at the end of the seventh after he had been taken apart by cracking combinations before slumping on to his stool.