Terry Norris vs. Donald Curry
1991-06-01 : Terry Norris 151 lbs beat Donald Curry 154 lbs by KO at 2:54 in round 8 of 12
- Location: Radisson Resort, Palm Springs, California, USA
- Referee: Chuck Hassett
- Judge: Carol Castellano 69-64
- Judge: Miguel Donate 69-65
- Judge: Jose Juan Guerra 68-64
- World Boxing Council Super Welterweight Title (3rd defense by Norris)
- Norris was a 4-1 favorite.
- Norris' purse was $750,000 and Curry's was $115,000.
- Curry announced his retirement after the fight.
From Sports Illustrated:
The bout was part of a co-main event (in the other match, WBA welterweight champion Meldrick Taylor won a 12-round split decision over an unknown Venezuelan named Luis Garcia) that drew 4,800 fans to the Radisson's temporary outdoor arena on a cool and breezy desert evening. Curry, who despite his setbacks has remained a fearsome puncher, vowed to take the fight to Norris, and, indeed he came out throwing straight hard punches. Norris, who later said his plan had been to stick and move, was soon flatfooted, forced to bang away inside with short uppercuts and hooks. He seemed a far cry from the slashing, dangerous boxer who thrashed Leonard.
"I wanted to knock him out," said Norris afterward, trying to explain why he had abandoned his fight plan. "I started thinking, I beat Leonard. I beat the legend. Can't nobody touch me."
However, for a while at least, Curry touched him, coming over the top with crisp hooks and counterrights. For seven rounds it was a competitive, rough fight. Norris would later accuse Curry of dirty tactics, including head butts and low blows, but Norris repeatedly hit on breaks and, as we shall see, struck the most questionable punch of all.
Although Curry clearly was beginning to fade, the end came suddenly. In the closing seconds of Round 8, after a left-right combination by Curry seemed to sting the champion, Norris fired back with a series of punches. A straight right hurt Curry. A second right toppled him. Curry was on his knees when Norris, lunging in, caught him flush with another right. Norris had done the same thing in the Leonard fight. Referee Chuck Hasset, who showed little control throughout the bout, ignored the questionable blow and counted Curry out with seven seconds left in the round.