User talk:Ville

From BoxRec
Jump to: navigation, search

Sugar Ray Leonard vs. Pete Ranzany

Dear Ville, I appreciate that you want to contribute to the encyclopedia and welcome you to do it, but there's no reason to delete content from the pages you modify. Particularly when certain titles are involved (including the NABF title), a lot of work has gone in to reference the title fights in a certain way.--Reenthelawman 02:26, 31 May 2010 (UTC)

Actually, you deleted the following content:

  • Ranzany was knocked down once in the 4th round.
  • Upon rising, Ranzany was battered in a corner until the referee stopped the fight.

I assume you did so because you were linking to an article about the fight, but the encyclopedia should be, as much as possible, a one-stop source of information. As for your question, I invite you to visit the WBC, IBF, WBA, WBO, IBO, NABF, NABO, NABA, Commonwealth Boxing Council or Canadian Boxing Federation title pages. You will see that the title at stake is usually referenced in the same manner (although some inconsistencies still exist).

I certainly don't want to discourage you from entering information or to suggest that there's only one template to present said information, but unless you have a strong reason to do so, I don't think you should reformat the content already included.--Reenthelawman 04:08, 31 May 2010 (UTC)