From Boxrec Boxing Encyclopaedia
Revision as of 18:39, 4 March 2005 by Ric (Talk | contribs)

Jump to: navigation, search

Cruiserweight [also called Junior Heavyweight]- (176-200 lbs; 80.0 – 90.0 kg; 12 stone 6 pounds – 14 stone 3 pounds)- first originated in England (later called lighter-heavyweight); next established as 176-190 lbs (80.0 – 86.2 kg or 12 stone, 6 pounds – 13 stone, 6 pounds) by the WBC in 1979, then the WBA in 1982, and the IBF in 1983; modified in 2004 first by the WBC, then the WBA and next by the IBF to allow a maximum limit of 200 pounds.

First WBC champion was Marvin Camel (in 1980); first WBA champion Ossie Ocasio (in 1982); first IBF champion Marvin Camel (in 1983); first Commonwealth (British Empire) champion Stewart Lithgo (in 1984); first British champion Sammy Reeson (in 1985); first Undisputed World champion Evander Holyfield (in 1988); first WBO champion Boone Pultz (in 1989). NOTE: the English class Cruiserweights (from 1889-1937) became Light heavyweight (1937-present). The name reappeared in America (in 1980) for a new class of 190, then 195, and currently 200 pound boxers.

See also World Cruiserweight Champions

Personal tools
Boxrec Database