Manny Pacquiao

From BoxRec
(Redirected from Human:6129)
Jump to: navigation, search
Pacquiao following his 2009 win against Miguel Cotto

Name: Manny Pacquiao
Alias: Pac Man
Birth Name: Emmanuel Dapidran Pacquiao
Born: 1978-12-17 (Age:36)
Birthplace: Kibawe, Bukidnon, Philippines
Hometown: General Santos City, Cotabato del Sur, Philippines
Stance: Southpaw
Height: 5′ 5½″   /   166cm
Reach: 67″   /   170cm
Boxing Record: click
Promoting Record: click

Trainer: Freddie Roach (2001 - present)
Manager: Shelly Finkel
Promoter: Top Rank
Manny Pacquiao Gallery

Professional Career

Manny Pacquiao, sometimes known simply as "Pac Man," began his professional career in 1995 at the age of 16. He won his first eleven fights before running into Rustico Torrecampo, who scored a third-round KO over Pacquiao. In his 21st fight, Pacquiao knocked out Chokchai Chockvivat in five rounds to win the OPBF flyweight title. In December of 1998, Pacquiao fought WBC flyweight champion Chatchai Sasakul. The champion, an elusive boxer and a good counter puncher, was knocked out by Pacquiao in round eight. Sasakul did not get up for several minutes. Pacquiao lost the title when he failed to make weight for his fight against Medgoen Singsurat, which was to be his second title defense. Pacquiao went ahead with the fight but was knocked out in the third round by Singsurat.

Following the loss of his title, Pacquiao moved up three weight classes to the 122-pound division. After six straight wins, he fought Lehlohonolo Ledwaba for the IBF junior featherweight title in June of 2001. Pacquiao, a late substitute opponent, dominated Ledwaba, knocking out the champ in six rounds. Pacquiao's next fight was a unification fight against WBO champion Agapito Sanchez, which ended in a six-round technical decision draw.

In November of 2003, Pacquiao moved up in weight and fought Marco Antonio Barrera for The Ring Magazine featherweight title. Pacquiao dropped Barrera three times in route to an eleventh-round TKO. Pacquiao next fought WBA/IBF featherweight champion Juan Manuel Marquez. Marquez was down three times in the first round but came back to win many of the later rounds and secure a draw. Marquez turned down a rematch because he didn't like the purse he was offered, so Pacquiao moved up to the 130-pound division and fought Erik Morales in March of 2005. In a candidate for Fight of the Year, Morales won by a close unanimous decision. All three official judges scored the fight 115-113 for Morales. Pacquaio fought Morales twice in 2006, winning by a tenth-round KO and a third-round KO, respectively. Pacquiao was named the 2006 Fighter of the Year by ESPN, The Ring and the Boxing Writers Association of America.

Pacquiao fought twice in 2007, knocking out the undefeated Jorge Solis in eight rounds and outpointing Barrera in a rematch. Pacquiao was named Fighter of the Year by the World Boxing Hall of Fame.

Pacquiao fought Marquez for the WBC super featherweight title in March of 2008. In another great fight, Pacquiao won by a split decision. Pacquiao knocked out David Diaz in his next fight to win the WBC lightweight title and then moved up to welterweight to fight Oscar De La Hoya. He dominated De La Hoya, and the fight was stopped after the eighth round. Pacquiao was again named Fighter of the Year by ESPN, The Ring and the Boxing Writers Association of America.

In 2009, Pacquiao scored a second-round knockout against Ricky Hatton to win The Ring junior welterweight title and stopped Miguel Cotto in the twelve rounds to take the WBO welterweight title. Once again, he was named Fighter of the Year by ESPN, The Ring and the Boxing Writers Association of America.

Pacquiao became the first fighter to win world titles in eight weight divisions when he defeated Antonio Margarito by a one-sided unanimous decision to win the vacant WBC super welterweight title in November of 2010. Pacquaio never defended the title. He vacated it and defended his WBO welterweight title with a lopsided unanimous decision against Shane Mosley.

In November of 2011, Pacquaio had a rubber match with Marquez, winning by a close and controversial majority decision. In his next fight, Pacquiao was on the other end of a controversial decision, losing the WBO welterweight title to Timothy Bradley by a highly controversial split decision.

Pacquiao fought Marquez for a fourth time in December of 2012. After being dropped in the third round, Pacquiao came back to drop Marquez in the fifth round. Pacquiao was winning the sixth round when he got nailed with a perfect right to the head. He went down to the canvas and was out cold. After three close fights, Marquez finally got a win in their great four-fight series.

In November of 2013, Pacquiao returned to the ring with a lopsided decision victory against Brandon Rios. Five months later, Pacquiao had a rematch with Bradley, who was coming off a split decision win against Marquez. Pacquiao defeated Bradley by a unanimous decision, avenging the controversial loss from two years earlier and regaining the WBO welterweight title.

Career Notes

Regional & Minor Titles

  • OPBF Flyweight Title (June 1997 - September 1998)
  • WBC International Super Bantamweight Title (December 1999 - June 2001)
  • WBC International Super Featherweight Title (September 2005 - November 2007)
  • IBO Junior Welterweight Title (May 2009 - January 2010)
  • WBC Diamond Welterweight Title (November 2009)
  • WBO International Welterweight Title (November 2013 - April 2014)

The Ring Magazine Titles

  • World Featherweight Title (November 2003 - March 2005)
  • World Junior Lightweight Title (March 2008 - July 2008)
  • World Junior Welterweight Title (May 2009 - July 2010)
    Pacquiao vacated each title to fight in a higher weight division.

Lineal Titles

  • World Flyweight Title (December 1998 - September 1999)
  • World Featherweight Title (November 2003 - March 2005)
  • World Junior Lightweight Title (March 2008 - July 2008)
  • World Junior Welterweight Title (May 2009 - July 2010)

World Titles

  • WBC Flyweight Title
  • IBF Junior Featherweight Title
  • WBC Super Featherweight Title
  • WBC Lightweight Title
  • WBO Welterweight Title (2)
  • WBC Super Welterweight Title

Awards & Recognition

External Links

Preceded by:
Chatchai Sasakul
WBC Flyweight Champion
1998 Dec 4 – 1999 Sep 17
(failed to make weight)
Succeeded by:
Medgoen Singsurat
Preceded by:
Lehlohonolo Ledwaba
IBF Super Bantamweight Champion
2001 Jun 23 – 2003
Succeeded by:
Israel Vazquez
Preceded by:
Juan Manuel Marquez
WBC Super Featherweight Champion
2008 Mar 15 – 2008 Jul
Succeeded by:
Humberto Soto
Preceded by:
David Diaz
WBC Lightweight Champion
2008 Jun 28 – 2009 Feb 24
Succeeded by:
Edwin Valero
Preceded by:
Miguel Angel Cotto
WBO Welterweight Champion
2009 Nov 14 – 2012 June 9
Succeeded by:
Timothy Bradley
Preceded by:
Sergio Gabriel Martinez
WBC Light Middleweight Champion
2010 Nov 13 – 2011 Feb
Succeeded by:
Saul Alvarez
Preceded by:
Timothy Bradley
WBO Welterweight Champion
2014 Apr 12 – present
Succeeded by: