From BoxRec
Revision as of 15:14, 17 October 2007 by Rowdytimothy (Talk | contribs)

Jump to: navigation, search

The lightweight division is 131-135 lbs; 59.5 – 61.4 kg; 9 stone, 4 pounds – 9 stone, 6 pounds.

This class first originated as any fighter whose weight was less than 160 pounds by Jack Broughton (in 1738). Under London Prize Ring Rules, the weight class ranged from 130-150; next established by the ABA as 10 stone (in 1889); modified by the National Sporting Club (in 1909) as 9 stone, 9 pounds, or 135 lbs.

The first English champion was John Moneghan (in 1850); first British champion Jem Cauney (in 1884); first American/World champion Jack McAuliffe (in 1886); first Commonwealth (British Empire) champion Freddie Welsh (in 1912); first NBA champion Sammy Angott (in 1940); first NYSAC champion Beau Jack (in 1942); first WBA and WBC champion Carlos Ortiz (in 1962 and 1963); first IBF champion Charlie Brown (in 1984); first WBO champion Amancio Catro (in 1989).

See also, World Lightweight Champions & weight divisions