Only the referee can stop the bout

From BoxRec
Revision as of 11:57, 30 April 2006 by Ric (Talk | contribs)

(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search
  • Only the referee can stop the bout refers to the rule in some jurisdictions that a bout cannot be stopped by a corner throwing in the towel to signify defeat--if their boxer is hurt, helpless, or otherwise unable to continue; only the referee can decide if and when the bout should be ended.
  • The rule originally was created to prevent the abuse in the past where a bout had been fixed by gamblers or others to end in a pre-determined round.
  • See also, Rules of Boxing