Standing eight-count

From BoxRec
Revision as of 20:38, 10 June 2007 by Ric (Talk | contribs)

Jump to: navigation, search

Also known as a protection count, it is the highest count a referee can give to a boxer who is back on his feet after sustaining a knockdown. This count allows the referee time to judge whether the boxer can continue to fight.

Some jurisdictions require that a boxer receive a mandatory "standing eight-count" after being knocked down.

Some commissions allow for the use of a standing eight-count when a boxer takes excessive punishment and appears on the verge of going down but does not actually go down, or is prevented from going down by the ropes.

A standing eight-count is considered the same as a knockdown in regards to the scoring of a bout.

Compare mandatory eight-count